Fertility and Weight Loss

  Carrying excessive weight can increase your risk of developing heart disease, diabetes and even certain cancers.  However, for young women who would like to start a family, the chances of falling pregnant are definitely reduced if they are overweight. 

That is why women struggling to fall pregnant are often recommended to lose weight in order to increase their chances of success, however a recent study carried out in Sydney has reinforced the importance of this.  It seems that obese women who undergo fertility treatment – such as IVF – have a greater success rate if they lose weight at the same time.  In fact, their chances of success are three times greater than those obese women who do not lose weight. (read here for more information:  http://bigpondnews.com/articles/Health/2012/05/11/Weight_loss_improves_fertility_749178.html

Over the years, The Natural Way has helped many women lose weight in order to help them fall pregnant.  One such client is Helen Patrinos from Brisbane.  Helen says, “I weighed 90kg and having a baby was something I really wanted, but I had found out I had polycystic ovaries.  My doctor recommended I lose weight and that might help me with falling pregnant.”

Helen now, 23kg lighter and mother of Nikolas

Helen at her before weight of 86.8kg

As a result, Helen joined The Natural Way and found that her weight just ‘dropped off’ – in fact, when she was only 6kg from her goal, she found out some wonderful news – she was pregnant!  Helen says, “I had a wonderful little baby boy but put on 20kg.  I could not stay at this weight, so I went back to The Natural Way and got back on program to reach my goal.”

Helen lost a total of 23kg to achieve her goal and is a proud mum of her lovely son Nikolas.  She says, “Before I lost my weight I hated how I looked, I had no energy…I became depressed and ashamed of myself that I would avoid going out of my house.  It’s amazing how much more you get out of life when you are not obese and unhealthy.”

The fact is that carrying excess weight can be harmful to your body in so many different ways! The Natural Way – your weight loss experts – can give you all the professional assistance and personal advice you need to get you to your goal weight.  Why not start today?  Call 1300SLIMMER (1300 754 663) and make a free appointment to find out how we can help you to get back the body you want.

Find out more by visiting our website:  www.thenaturalway.com.au

About Lose Weight With Sue

I am a naturopath for The Natural Way. We have 24 clinics nationally that help people to lose weight & educate on how to keep it off.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

