The Psychological Reasons For Getting Fat

I recently attended an excellent conference in Sydney.  It was the ‘International Congress of Obesity’ and I spent 3 days listening to a variety of guest speakers from all over the world.  There were some fascinating topics covered, but one that really ‘stood out’ for me was a presentation by Mr Mike Curley.  He totally changed the dynamics of the conference by taking our minds away from the physiological side-effects of obesity and instead explored the emotional reasons as to why obesity may occur in the first place.  Think about somebody you know very well who is overweight – can you perhaps identify a reason why from the list below?

The psychological reasons for weight gain:

There are 2 main reasons:  They revolve around protection issues and acceptance & love

BEING FAT FOR PROTECTION

  • Being fat protects me from the scarcity of life i.e. ‘I don’t have enough so I need to hang onto everything’
  • Being fat protects me from others i.e ‘ the bigger I am, people won’t push me around’, ‘ the bigger I am, the more people are scared of me’, ‘ the bigger I am, the more I don’t feel the pain of abuse’
  • Being fat protects me from myself i.e. ‘ no one wants me anyway’ which is indicative of self pity / defeated/ self punishment
  • Being fat protects me from danger i.e. ‘ the world is a dangerous place where anything can go wrong if I am not careful.  I need protection’.

 

BEING FAT TO GAIN ACCEPTANCE & LOVE:

  • Being fat gets me attention  ‘ poor me, I’m so fat’…helps to gain pity
  • Being fat helps me to please others i.e. ‘ eating my mother’s / spouse’s food helps me to please others
  • Being fat helps me to fit in i.e. ‘ my spouse is fat, so am I’
  • Being fat helps me to feel loved i.e. ‘if you love me when I am fat, then you must really love me’.

The Natural Way can help you lose weight with their holistic approach to weight loss.  Call 1300 SLIMMER today to find out more about our programme or visit our website at www.slimmeroftheyear.com

About Lose Weight With Sue

I am a naturopath for The Natural Way. We have 24 clinics nationally that help people to lose weight & educate on how to keep it off.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

